Trauma Enhanced Practice Level 3

Who Should Attend?

Trauma Level 3 is for staff who have a specific remit to respond to the needs of survivors on a regular or intense basis.

Individuals will be expected to have the knowledge required for Level 2 prior to attending and to have completed Trauma Level 2 training before coming on Trauma Level 3.

This is a practice based course, so participants who have been working in this or a similar field for over 18 months will get the most out of it.

Aims of the Course

Participants will learn how to continually build trust and develop recovery focused relationships with people affected by trauma and have a greater understanding of the effects of trauma and the experience of the survivor.

They will have reflected on their practice and gained understanding of the different ways of working.

Objectives of the Course

Participants will:

  • Develop an understanding of the neurobiological basis for trauma symptoms, including natural resiliency.
  • Learn about disassociation and how to work within the ‘window of tolerance’.
  • Be more able to recognise and support the person to mitigate the complex risks when they occur.
  • Develop the skills of how to recognise and safely respond to disclosure.
  • Learn to be trauma informed when developing a collaborative plan for support.
  • Be able to match different levels of intervention according to need.
  • Learn how to provide psycho-education around trauma symptoms and needs.
  • Learn when and how to refer to Tier 4 psychological interventions.

Practice Level Definitions

  • Trauma Informed Practice.
    • All workers.
    • Examples include shop workers, taxi drivers, recreation workers, and office workers.
  • Trauma Skilled Practice.
    • Workers who are likely to be coming into contact with people who may have been affected by trauma.
    • Examples include some lawyers, GPs, teachers, support for learning staff, police officers, nursery staff, sports-club coaches, receptionists, dentists, judges, A&E workers, lecturers, housing workers, care workers, service managers, youth development workers, health visitors and counsellors.
  • Trauma Enhanced Practice.
    • Workers who have a specific remit to respond to people known to be affected by trauma —AND— are required to provide advocacy support or interventions —OR— are required to adapt the way they work to take into account trauma reactions to do their job well and reduce risk of re-traumatisation —OR— are required to manage these services.
    • Examples include some lawyers, mental health nurses and workers, specialist domestic abuse support and advocacy workers, educational support teachers, some specialist police officers, some psychiatrists, forensic medical examiners, social workers, prison staff, secure unit workers, drug and alcohol workers and specialist counsellors.
  • Trauma Specialist Practice.
    • Workers who have a specific remit to provide specialist interventions or therapies for people known to be affected by trauma with complex needs.
    • Examples could include social workers with specialist roles/training, major incident workers, some psychiatrists, managers of highly specialist services, psychologists and other therapists.

Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.