Trauma Informed Practice Level 1

Who Should Attend?

The course gives a foundation for all our staff and volunteers.

It will provide the baseline knowledge and skills required by all staff working in multi-agency settings.

Aims of the Course

The Transforming Trauma national training framework sets out 4 levels of training for different parts of the workforce, which begins with this level 1 awareness course.

Objectives of the Course

  • Learn about what Trauma is.
  • Gain an understanding of the definition and evidence base.
  • Consider the effects and impact of trauma and resilience in this context.
  • Learn how to respond positively to support recovery and avoid re-traumatisation.
  • Understand the importance of self-care and support in the context of being part of trauma informed services.

Practice Level Definitions

  • Trauma Informed Practice.
    • All workers.
    • Examples include shop workers, taxi drivers, recreation workers, and office workers.
  • Trauma Skilled Practice.
    • Workers who are likely to be coming into contact with people who may have been affected by trauma.
    • Examples include some lawyers, GPs, teachers, support for learning staff, police officers, nursery staff, sports-club coaches, receptionists, dentists, judges, A&E workers, lecturers, housing workers, care workers, service managers, youth development workers, health visitors and counsellors.
  • Trauma Enhanced Practice.
    • Workers who have a specific remit to respond to people known to be affected by trauma —AND— are required to provide advocacy support or interventions —OR— are required to adapt the way they work to take into account trauma reactions to do their job well and reduce risk of re-traumatisation —OR— are required to manage these services.
    • Examples include some lawyers, mental health nurses and workers, specialist domestic abuse support and advocacy workers, educational support teachers, some specialist police officers, some psychiatrists, forensic medical examiners, social workers, prison staff, secure unit workers, drug and alcohol workers and specialist counsellors.
  • Trauma Specialist Practice.
    • Workers who have a specific remit to provide specialist interventions or therapies for people known to be affected by trauma with complex needs.
    • Examples could include social workers with specialist roles/training, major incident workers, some psychiatrists, managers of highly specialist services, psychologists and other therapists.

Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.