What was the County Asylums Act 1808?


The County Asylums Act 1808 formed mental health law in England and Wales from 1808 to 1845.

Refer to Chronology of UK Mental Health Legislation.


Notably, the Asylums Act established public mental asylums in Britain that could be operated by the county government.

It permitted, but did not compel, Justices of the Peace to provide establishments for the care of pauper lunatics, so that they could be removed from workhouses and prisons.

The Act is also known as Mr. Wynn’s Act, after Charles Watkin Williams-Wynn, a Welsh member of parliament for Montgomeryshire, who promoted the act.


6 thoughts on “What was the County Asylums Act 1808?

Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.