What is the International Association for Suicide Prevention?


The International Association for Suicide Prevention (IASP) is an international suicide prevention organisation.


Founded by Erwin Ringel and Norman Farberow in 1960, IASP, which is in an official relationship with the World Health Organisation (WHO), is dedicated to preventing suicidal behaviour and providing a forum for mental health professionals, crisis workers, suicide survivors and other people in one way or another affected by suicidal behaviour. The organisation now consists of professionals and volunteers from over 50 countries worldwide.

The IASP also co-sponsors, with the WHO, World Suicide Prevention Day on 10 September every year.

IASP Congresses

The IASP holds international congresses every two years. XXIX World Congress of the IASP will be organised in Kuching (Malaysia) in 2017.

Past Congresses

  • 2021 Queensland, Australia.
  • 2019 Derry-Londonderry, Northern Ireland.
  • 2017 Kucjing, Malaysia.
  • 2015 Montreal, Canada.
  • 2013 Oslo, Norway.
  • 2011 Beijing, China.
  • 2009 Montevideo, Uruguay.
  • 2007 Killarney, Ireland.
  • 2005 Durban, South Africa.
  • 2003 Stockholm, Sweden.
  • 2001 Chennai, India.
  • 1999 Athens, Greece.
  • 1997 Adelaide, Australia.
  • 1995 Venice, Italy.
  • 1993 Montreal Canada.
  • 1991 Hamburg, Germany.
  • 1989 Brussels, Belgium.
  • 1987 San Francisco, US.
  • 1985 Vienna, Austria.
  • 1983 Caracas, Venezuela.
  • 1981 Paris, France.
  • 1979 Ottawa, Canada.
  • 1977 Helsinki, Finland.
  • 1975 Jerusalem, Israel.
  • 1973 Amsterdam, Netherlands.
  • 1971 Mexico City, Mexico.
  • 1969 London, England.
  • 1967 Los Angeles, US.
  • 1965 Basel, Switzerland.
  • 1963 Copenhagen, Denmark.
  • 1960 Vienna, Austria.


The IASP provides awards for those who have contributed in a significant way to the furthering of the aims of the Association. Awards are presented at the IASP biennial conference.

The Stengel Research Award has been provided since 1977 and is named in honour of Professor Erwin Stengel, one of the founders of the IASP. This award is for outstanding research in the field of suicidology, and nominations can be made by any member of IASP.

The Ringel Service Award was instituted in 1995 and honours Professor Erwin Ringel, the founding President of the Association. This award is for distinguished service in the field of suicidology, and nominations can be made by National Representatives of IASP.

The Farberow Award was introduced in 1997 in recognition of Professor Norman Farberow, a founding member and driving force behind the IASP. This award is for a person who has contributed significantly in the field of work with survivors of suicide, and nominations can be made by any IASP member.

The De Leo Fund Award honours the memory of Nicola and Vittorio, the children of Professor Diego De Leo, IASP Past President. The Award is offered to distinguished scholars in recognition of their outstanding research on suicidal behaviours carried out in developing countries.


The Association’s journal, Crisis – The Journal of Crisis Intervention and Suicide Prevention, has been published since 1980.



Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.