Book: Resilience – How We Find New Strength at Times of Stress

Book Title:

Resilience – How We Find New Strength at Times of Stress.

Author(s): Fredric Flach (MD).

Year: 2020.

Edition: First (1st).

Publisher: Hatherleigh Press.

Type(s): Paperback.

Synopsis:

Make stress your ally in the pursuit of happiness and personal fulfillment.

There’s no escaping stress. It appears on our doorstep uninvited in the shattering forms of death, divorce, or job loss. Stress even comes in the pleasant experiences of promotion, marriage, or a long-held wish fulfilled.

So why do some people come out of a crisis feeling better than ever, and others never seem to bounce back?

You will discover:

  • How to develop the 14 traits that will make you more resilient.
  • Why “falling apart” is often the smartest step to take on the road to resilience.
  • When the five-step plan for creative problem solving can help.
  • What essential steps you can take to strengthen your body’s resilience.
  • How to redefine your problem and restructure your pain to create a life you can handle, a life you can learn from and enjoy!

Drawing on more than thirty years of case studies from his own psychiatric practice, Dr. Frederic Flach reveals the remarkable antidote to the destructive qualities of stress – physical, mental, and emotional resilience.

Book: The ABCS of Coping with Anxiety

Book Title:

The ABCS of Coping with Anxiety: Using CBT to Manage Stress and Anxiety.

Author(s): James Cowart (PhD).

Year: 2017.

Edition: First (1st).

Publisher: Crown House Publishing.

Type(s): Paperback and Kindle.

Synopsis:

In ‘The ABCS of Coping with Anxiety: Using CBT to Manage Stress and Anxiety’, James Cowart offers a concise collection of tried-and-tested strategies from cognitive behavioural therapy (CBT) and makes them accessible to people who are learning to cope with their anxiety on a day-to-day basis. ‘The ABCS of Coping with Anxiety’ has been placed highly commended in the health and social care category in the 2018 British Medical Association Medical Book Awards.

Anxiety is a normal part of our human nature. For spurring you to make decisions or perform, it can actually be helpful. However, an unchecked pattern of intrusive negative thoughts can escalate the severity and persistence of the level of anxiety experienced over time. As this worsens, it is not uncommon to feel an increasing lack of control ultimately leading to a chain of self-defeating behaviors that may negatively affect all aspects of your daily life. Yet, while it is not possible to directly control our emotions (or what others think or do), it is possible to learn and apply coping skills that can help you face feared situations rather than escape or avoid them.

James Cowart s aim in ‘The ABCS of Coping with Anxiety’ is to share a toolbox of CBT techniques garnered over 40 years clinical practice that will enable you to manage your anxiety on a sustainable path toward taking back some of that control. These self-help strategies focus on developing key coping skills designed to reduce fear and anxiety, and are complemented by a user-friendly, step-by-step program of practical exercises that can be personalized to meet each individual s unique needs.

Informed by his extensive experience and therapeutic knowledge, and with real-life case studies to guide you along your own journey, James s easy-to-remember ABCS approach is as transformative as it is simple:

  • A is for accepting the thoughts and feelings you can and can not control.
  • B is for breathing slowly and naturally to relieve and relax muscle tension.
  • C is for countering any unrealistic or catastrophic thoughts with truth and logic.
  • S is for staying with it so you can face your fears and anxieties until they are reduced.

Each step is explored in detail in the first four chapters, and further discussion is also dedicated to using the ABCS with different types of anxiety (including social anxiety, specific phobias, panic attacks and obsessive compulsive disorder (OCD)) and coping with related depression, anger and impulsivity. Punctuated with research-informed insight and instruction throughout, The ABCS of Coping with Anxiety’ offers hope, relief and reassurance in helping you master your anxiety and work toward greater independence.

Suitable for those living with anxiety and for the health professionals including psychiatrists, psychologists, social workers and counselors working with them.

Book: The Handbook of Stress

Book Title:

The Handbook of Stress – Neuropsychological Effects on the Brain.

Author(s): Cheryl D. Conrad (Editor).

Year: 2011.

Edition: First (1st).

Publisher: Wiley-Blackwell.

Type(s): Hardcover and Kindle.

Synopsis:

The Handbook of Stress: Neuropsychological Effects on the Brain is an authoritative guide to the effects of stress on brain health, with a collection of articles that reflect the most recent findings in the field.

  • Presents cutting edge findings on the effects of stress on brain health.
  • Examines stress influences on brain plasticity across the lifespan, including links to anxiety, PTSD, and clinical depression.
  • Features contributions by internationally recognised experts in the field of brain health.
  • Serves as an essential reference guide for scholars and advanced students.

Book: The Mind-Gut Connection

Book Title:

The Mind-Gut Connection – How the Hidden Conversation Within Our Bodies Impacts Our Mood, Our Choices, and Our Overall Health.

Author(s): Emeran Mayer (MD).

Year: 2016.

Edition: First.

Publisher: HarperWave.

Type(s): Hardcover and Kindle.

Synopsis:

Combining cutting-edge neuroscience with the latest discoveries on the human microbiome, a practical guide in the tradition of The Second Brain, and The Good Gut that conclusively demonstrates the inextricable, biological link between mind and the digestive system.

We have all experienced the connection between our mind and our gut – the decision we made because it “felt right”; the butterflies in our stomach before a big meeting; the anxious stomach rumbling we get when we are stressed out.

While the dialogue between the gut and the brain has been recognised by ancient healing traditions, including Ayurvedic and Chinese medicine, Western medicine has by and large failed to appreciate the complexity of how the brain, gut, and more recently, the gut microbiota – the microorganisms that live inside our digestive tract – communicate with one another.

In The Mind-Gut Connection, Dr. Emeran Mayer, professor of medicine and executive director of the UCLA Centre for Neurobiology of Stress, offers a revolutionary and provocative look at this developing science, teaching us how to harness the power of the mind-gut connection to take charge of our health and listen to the innate wisdom of our bodies.

Book: Mindfulness for Dummies

Book Title:

Mindfulness for Dummies.

Author(s): Shamash Alidina.

Year: 2010.

Edition: First.

Publisher: John Wiley & Sons.

Type(s): Paperback, Kindle, and Audiobook.

Synopsis:

A cutting-edge meditation therapy that uses self-control techniques, mindfulness has taken off across the globe as a way of overcoming negative thoughts and emotions and achieving a calmer, more focused state of mind.

Written by a professional mindfulness trainer, this practical guide covers the key self-control techniques designed to help you achieve a more focused and contented state of mind, while maximising the health benefits of mindfulness-from reducing stress, anxiety, and high blood pressure to overcoming depression and low self-esteem and battling chronic pain and insomnia.

Includes self-control techniques (such as body posture, sitting practice and breathing exercises) and routines.

Includes an audio CD featuring narrated meditations and exercises.

Introducing you to a new and powerful form of meditation therapy, Mindfulness For Dummies outlines how to use it in your everyday life to achieve a new level of self-awareness and self-understanding and reap the long-term rewards of better health.

Book: Cognitive Behavioural Therapy

Book Title:

Cognitive Behavioural Therapy: A Simple Step-by-Step Guide to Managing Fear, Anxiety, Depression and Stress by Challenging Unwanted Thoughts.

Author(s): Adrian Kirk.

Year: 2019.

Edition: One.

Publisher: Independently Published.

Type(s): Paperback and Kindle.

Synopsis:

Do you want to significantly improve the way you behave around others by refining your thought patterns?

Do you want to be able to interpret life events from another person’s perspective to help you understand others?

This book will help you achieve those goals!

Many of us interprets information that we receive differently, whether it is at work or elsewhere. As a result, we end up having to deal with problems that others might not understand or even see. This is where Cognitive Behavioural Therapy comes in!

Inside this book, Cognitive Behavioural Therapy: A Simple step-by-step Guide to Managing Fear, Anxiety, Depression and Stress by Challenging Unwanted Thoughts, you will find new ideas and strategies to help you improve the way you approach problems, with chapters that include:

  • Understanding the root causes of your thought pattern.
  • Identifying and challenging your worst nightmares.
  • Setting realistic goals and how to stay on track.
  • Applying exercises to combat unwanted thought.
  • And much more…

This book is ideal for anyone who has never heard of cognitive behavioural therapy before, or for those who are not getting the most from the ones they are currently practising.

Whichever it is, Cognitive Behavioural Therapy: A Simple step-by-step Guide to Managing Fear, Anxiety, Depression and Stress by Challenging Unwanted Thoughts is the book which will provide a platform for success like no other!

Slash Anxiety, Depression, & Stress Levels with a Whole Foods Diet

For those already struggling with their New Year eating resolutions, they may be happy to hear that it can take under a month to see improvements in how they feel after adopting a healthy diet.

A randomised control study, conducted by researchers at Macquarie University in Australia, found that when depressed university students, aged between 17 and 35, switched from a processed diet to a whole foods diet anxiety, depression, and stress levels were slashed.

The whole foods diet included (per day):

  • Two or three servings of fruit.
  • Five portions of vegetables.
  • Three servings each of wholegrains and lean protein.
  • Two tablespoons of olive oil.
  • One teaspoon of turmeric or cinnamon.

Overview of Trauma- & Stress-Related Disorders

Trauma- and stress-related disorders result from exposure to a traumatic or stressful event.

Specific disorders include acute stress disorder (ASD) and post-traumatic stress disorder (PTSD). These disorders cause similar symptoms but differ in how long they last.

  • ASD:
    • Typically begins immediately after the event.
    • Lasts from 3 days to 1 month.
  • PTSD:
    • Lasts for more than 1 month.
    • It may develop as a continuation of acute stress disorder or develop separately up to 6 months after the event.

Although depression and anxiety are often prominent, individuals with trauma-related disorders often have a wide variety of symptoms that may not obviously seem related to the traumatic event.

For example, individuals may:

  • Act aggressively;
  • Be unable to experience pleasure; and/or
  • Feel restless, discontented, angry, numb, or disconnected from themselves and others.